Get charged with a Domestic Violence Crime while visiting Nashville? What do you do now?
Whether you are visiting Nashville to see the sights, catch an NFL, Hockey or MLS game or even business, sometimes things can happen between you and another, a family member, or a close friend that could be classified as Domestic Violence. Or, if you live here and got charged with DV.
When this happens, you could be arrested for the crime of Domestic Violence – even if you are NOT GUILTY of the crime!
This is because the police DV response policy in Tennessee is to:
1. Separate the Parties;
2. Determine the Primary Aggressor; and
3. MAKE AN ARREST!
This policy has been interpreted to mean the police MUST arrest someone, and that someone is usually the man (there are many reasons for this).
- If this has happened to you, Do Not Panic – it can be Dismissed AND Expungedif handled the correct way.
Getting arrested while visiting another city can be a scary experience, but having a strong criminal defense attorney representing you in Court is your best bet to get the matter resolved and allay any concerns or fears you may have.
The penalties for a domestic violence convictionare severe in Tennessee, that is why you need a lawyer that knows the system and can get the case resolved, weakened, or even better – Dismissed and Expunged!
Please continue reading or visit the website to learn more about the consequences of a domestic violence conviction and how Kurt Bartlett can help you.
The penalties for a DV Conviction can vary depending on the circumstances of your case.
Class B misdemeanors carry up to six months in jail and a $500 fine (DV Assault by Intimidation), and Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail and fines not to exceed $2,500 (DV Simple Assault/Bodily Injury).
Conversely, if you were arrested for Aggravated Assault (DV Assault with a Deadly Weapon or Serious Bodily Injury or Strangulation), the consequences are much worse.
- Aggravated Assault is a Felony in Tennessee.
Generally speaking, those arrested on Aggravated Assault Domestic violence charges will face a Class D felony or a Class C felony.
Class D felonies are punishable by a maximum of 12 years imprisonment and a $5,000 fine, and a Class C felony conviction could result in a 15-year prison sentence and a $10,000 fine.
*All of these convictions would trigger Federal Gun Laws under the Lautenberg Amendment – where you would never be able to own OR possess a firearm.
Why you need a strong Criminal Defense Attorney:
These penalties are only the legal consequences if you are found guilty of a domestic violence charge.
The damage to your reputation, livelihood, and family is something that could harm you for much longer (See related "The Scoop" website).
Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer Kurt Bartlett works vigorously to build your defense through data collection, witness and police interviews, and superior knowledge of the law.
There are also a number of different defensive strategies we use to fight DV Cases, which include:
Self-defense; Lack of probable cause to arrest; Impeachment of untruthful witnesses; Lack of intent; Investigative errors; mistake, etc.
These are just a few of the most commonly used defenses in domestic violence cases. Obviously every case is different, but most of these strategies apply to defeat domestic violence charges.
Don’t wait! Speak to and Retain an Experienced Domestic Violence Lawyer as soon as possible to protect your rights!
Call and speak with Kurt Bartlett at 615-479-0550 today to see how he can get your DV case dismissed and expunged ASAP! - before the damage gets too bad...